Wood Shop Classes

Log in


Upcoming events

    • Wednesday, January 23, 2019
    • 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 3
    Register

    In this wood turning class, come try out our Oliver wood lathe and make a simple, unique item for yourself or as a gift.

    You will learn about basic operation of the lathe and safety while turning, talk about tool selection and types of cut, then practice making your first few cuts before turning down your own small design.

    Class length is 2 hours. Material and tools are provided.

    • Thursday, January 24, 2019
    • 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 4
    Register

    In this class you will learn to safely operate the powered saws and drills most often used when working with wood, as well as power sanding equipment. These tools are commonly used to prepare and dimension raw lumber for further use in projects, as well as in more refined shaping and finishing steps.

    This class covers the SawStop table saw, band saws, compound miter saw, drill press, and the combination belt & disc sander.

    Course length is 2 hours.


    • Thursday, January 24, 2019
    • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 2
    Register

    The Shopbot is a CNC (computer numeric control) router that allows the user to cut out a wide variety of 2D and 3D designs into wood, plastic, foam, and some composite materials. It can be used to repeatably create intricate parts with tight tolerances.

    In this class, we will show you how to safely operate the ShopBot and machine a small lidded box we have designed ahead of time. While softwares like Fusion 360, SolidWorks, and V-Carve can be used to generate part files and tool paths for the ShopBot, this class only covers use of the machine. Check online for design resources and be sure to ask a staff member if you have questions about your work!

    Course length is 3 hours.

    • Thursday, January 24, 2019
    • 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 4
    Register

    In this class you will learn to safely operate some of the more powerful shaping and dimensioning woodworking machines in the woodshop. These tools are often used for dimensioning raw lumber, for creating complex curvatures and profiles, and for smoothing and finishing large flat surfaces.

    This class covers the jointer, planer, table router, shaper, and drum sander.

    Course length is 2 hours.

    • Monday, January 28, 2019
    • 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 4
    Register

    The Shopbot is a CNC (computer numeric control) router that allows the user to cut out a wide variety of 2D and 3D designs into wood, plastic, foam, and some composite materials. It can be used to repeatably create intricate parts with tight tolerances.

    In this class, we will show you how to safely operate the ShopBot and machine a small lidded box we have designed ahead of time. While softwares like Fusion 360, SolidWorks, and V-Carve can be used to generate part files and tool paths for the ShopBot, this class only covers use of the machine. Check online for design resources and be sure to ask a staff member if you have questions about your work!

    Course length is 3 hours.

    • Tuesday, January 29, 2019
    • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 4
    Register

    Learn some new techniques or practice some old ones in the wood shop by making a beautiful jewelry box! We have a variety of materials for you to work with, including cedar, which is naturally insect repellent and moisture-resistant, allowing safe storage of items like photographs and textiles as well as small items like jewelry.

    In this class we will learn to mill raw lumber into useful stock before laying out the box. Then we will cut and glue the panels together, split the box to create a lid, and fit the hinges before assembling and beginning a simple finishing process.

    We will go over safety and operation for all the tools necessary to complete the project, and students will have some creative freedom in designing their boxes. To add a bit of optional personalization after the workshop, sign up for an additional laser hour to engrave a design on the lid before finishing it.

    Course length is three hours, not including the optional laser engraving hour. It is project-based, but also covers Wood Shop safety training.

    • Wednesday, January 30, 2019
    • 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 4
    Register

    In this wood turning class, come try out our Oliver wood lathe and make a simple, unique item for yourself or as a gift.

    You will learn about basic operation of the lathe and safety while turning, talk about tool selection and types of cut, then practice making your first few cuts before turning down your own small design.

    Class length is 2 hours. Material and tools are provided.

    • Thursday, January 31, 2019
    • 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 4
    Register

    In this class you will learn to safely operate the powered saws and drills most often used when working with wood, as well as power sanding equipment. These tools are commonly used to prepare and dimension raw lumber for further use in projects, as well as in more refined shaping and finishing steps.

    This class covers the SawStop table saw, band saws, compound miter saw, drill press, and the combination belt & disc sander.

    Course length is 2 hours.


    • Thursday, January 31, 2019
    • 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 5
    Register

    The Shopbot is a CNC (computer numeric control) router that allows the user to cut out a wide variety of 2D and 3D designs into wood, plastic, foam, and some composite materials. It can be used to repeatably create intricate parts with tight tolerances.

    In this class, we will show you how to safely operate the ShopBot and machine a small lidded box we have designed ahead of time. While softwares like Fusion 360, SolidWorks, and V-Carve can be used to generate part files and tool paths for the ShopBot, this class only covers use of the machine. Check online for design resources and be sure to ask a staff member if you have questions about your work!

    Course length is 3 hours.

    • Thursday, January 31, 2019
    • 8:00 PM - 10:00 PM
    • San Jose
    • 4
    Register

    In this class you will learn to safely operate some of the more powerful shaping and dimensioning woodworking machines in the woodshop. These tools are often used for dimensioning raw lumber, for creating complex curvatures and profiles, and for smoothing and finishing large flat surfaces.

    This class covers the jointer, planer, table router, shaper, and drum sander.

    Course length is 2 hours.

Past events

Tuesday, January 22, 2019 Wooden Jewelry Box
Thursday, January 17, 2019 Woodshop Safety 2
Thursday, January 17, 2019 Wooden Jewelry Box
Thursday, January 17, 2019 ShopBot
Thursday, January 17, 2019 Woodshop Safety 1
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 Wood Turning
Monday, January 14, 2019 ShopBot
Saturday, January 12, 2019 Wood Turning
Thursday, January 10, 2019 Woodshop Safety 2
Thursday, January 10, 2019 ShopBot
Thursday, January 10, 2019 Woodshop Safety 1
Monday, January 07, 2019 ShopBot
Thursday, January 03, 2019 Woodshop Safety 2
Thursday, January 03, 2019 ShopBot
Thursday, January 03, 2019 Woodshop Safety 1
Sunday, December 23, 2018 Cedar Jewelry Box
Saturday, December 22, 2018 Cedar Jewelry Box
Thursday, December 20, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Thursday, December 20, 2018 ShopBot
Thursday, December 20, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Wednesday, December 19, 2018 Wood Turning Taster
Tuesday, December 18, 2018 Wood Turning Taster
Monday, December 17, 2018 ShopBot
Sunday, December 16, 2018 Cedar Jewelry Box
Saturday, December 15, 2018 Cedar Jewelry Box
Friday, December 14, 2018 Wood Turning Taster
Thursday, December 13, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Thursday, December 13, 2018 ShopBot
Thursday, December 13, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Monday, December 10, 2018 ShopBot
Saturday, December 08, 2018 Woodworking 1
Thursday, December 06, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Thursday, December 06, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Thursday, November 29, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Thursday, November 29, 2018 ShopBot
Thursday, November 29, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Monday, November 26, 2018 ShopBot
Saturday, November 24, 2018 Woodworking 2
Saturday, November 17, 2018 Woodworking 1
Thursday, November 15, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Thursday, November 15, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Thursday, November 08, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Thursday, November 08, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Saturday, November 03, 2018 Woodworking 1
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Monday, October 29, 2018 Tips and Tricks for Bandsaws
Sunday, October 28, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Sunday, October 28, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Saturday, October 27, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Saturday, October 27, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Thursday, October 25, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Thursday, October 25, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Tuesday, October 23, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Tuesday, October 23, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Sunday, October 21, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Sunday, October 21, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Saturday, October 20, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Saturday, October 20, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Friday, October 19, 2018 Tips and Tricks for Bandsaws
Thursday, October 18, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Thursday, October 18, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Tuesday, October 16, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Tuesday, October 16, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Sunday, October 14, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Sunday, October 14, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Saturday, October 13, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Saturday, October 13, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Thursday, October 11, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Thursday, October 11, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Tuesday, October 09, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Tuesday, October 09, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Monday, October 08, 2018 Shopbot
Sunday, October 07, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Sunday, October 07, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Saturday, October 06, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Saturday, October 06, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Friday, October 05, 2018 Shopbot
Monday, October 01, 2018 Shopbot
Sunday, September 30, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Sunday, September 30, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Saturday, September 29, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Saturday, September 29, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Thursday, September 27, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Thursday, September 27, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Sunday, September 23, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Sunday, September 23, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Saturday, September 22, 2018 Woodshop Safety 2
Saturday, September 22, 2018 Woodshop Safety 1
Monday, September 10, 2018 Tips and Tricks for Bandsaws

Copyright 2018  TheShop.build















Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software